Finding Dental Analogies Everywhere!

Authored by Maria RDH–AKA the hygienist  =)

For the past year, my husband and I have been working to pay off some student debts by following a few different financial plans.  A book was recommended to us called “Boundaries:  When to Say Yes, How to Say No” by Henry Cloud and John Townsend because there is a section that addresses money and loved ones. 

Would you believe it?  They used a dental analogy.  I was just so excited I just had to share!  Here’s the excerpt talking about the difference between hurt and harm:

‘ “Have you ever gone to the dentist?” I asked.

“Sure.”

“Did the dentist hurt you when he drilled your tooth to remove the cavity?”

“Yes.”

“Did he harm you?”

“No, he made me feel better.”

“Hurt and harm are different,” I pointed out.  “When you ate the sugar that gave you the cavity, did that hurt?”

“No, it tasted good,” he said, with a smile that told me he was catching on.

“Did it harm you?”

“Yes.”

“That’s my point.  Things can hurt us and not harm us.  In fact, they can even be food fur us.  And things that feel good can be very harmful to us.” ‘

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

